The South African Burn Society (SABS) was established in 1976 and has spent upwards of the past 40 years working toward the prevention of burn injury, the promotion of comprehensive burn care and the development and funding of research in the field.

Our Mission

  • To set and maintain the highest clinical and ethical standards for burn treatment through data collection, education, and constant self-evaluation.

  • To encourage and facilitate regular meetings of multidisciplinary roleplayers in the burn care industry in order to foster the sharing of knowledge, expertise, and ideas.

  • To develop and make available clinical guidelines and best practice for multidisciplinary teams involved in the care of patients with burn injuries so as to improve patient care.

  • To foster professional relations with relevant societies and organisations for the purposes of education, burn prevention, and burn care, as well as allograft donation, allocation and distribution.

Our Vision

To promote the improvement of burn care in South Africa and on the African Continent.

The time has come for us to stand together in order to build a sustainable network of professionals working in burn-related industries or professions; a network dedicated to sharing knowledge, insights and support in the interest of improved patient care and long-term outcomes for patients with burn injuries. In the interest of accessibility and society longevity, membership is free, and all interested professionals are encouraged to seek membership and to stand with their colleagues in SABS’s quest to improve burn care in South Africa and on the African Continent.

Join us at the 2019 Burn Congress in Durban, South Africa, from the 3rd to the 5th of October. For more information on Burn Congress, please visit the dedicated Burn Congress website.

Acknowledgements, 2019 Burn Conference:

Honorary members (invited speakers at SABS congress):

  • David Mackie

  • Ian McCallum

  • Brian Watermeyer

  • Trevor Smith

  • Adriano Duse

  • Bishara Atiyeh

  • Nichola Rumsey

  • Merlin Guggenheim

  • David Linton

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients – for contribution to burn care in South Africa:

  • Emeritus Professor Heinz Rode

  • Professor Don Hudson

  • Dr Elbie van der Merwe

  • Mr Roger Crawford